Andrews Air Force Base - Air Force District of Washington
Andrews Air Force Base -
Air Force District of Washington (AFDW)

A Listing of Presidential Pilots

The following is a comprehensive review of the long series of United States Air Force service members who have given their time and talents to serve their nation, by transporting the President of the United States around the world.

13. Colonel Scott Turner (VC-25A)
Currently Serving: President Barack Obama
(January 2009 to present)

12. Colonel Mark W. Tillman (VC-25A)
Served: President George W. Bush
(June 2001 to January 2009)

11. Colonel Mark S. Donnelly (VC-25A)
Served: President Bill Clinton
(January 1997 to January 2001)
President George W. Bush
(January 2001 to June 2001)

10. Colonel Robert D. "Danny" Barr (VC-25A)
Served: President George H. W. Bush
(January 1989 to January 1993)
President Bill Clinton
(January 1993 to January 1997)

9. Colonel Robert E. Ruddick (SAM 27000)
Served: April 1980 to January 1981 (Carter),
then January 1981 to January 1989 (Reagan)

"I don't feel like I've done my job if we don't open the door within 30 seconds of the arrival time the White House staff has set for the flight."

Portrait not available.
8. Colonel Lester C. McClelland (SAM 27000)
Served: August 1974 to January 1977 (Ford),
then from January 1977 to April 1980 (Carter)

7. Colonel Ralph D. Albertazzie (SAM 27000)
Served: President Richard Nixon
(January 1969 to August 1974)

6. Lieutenant Colonel Paul Thornhill (SAM 26000)
Served: President Lyndon Johnson
(May 1968 to January 1969)
Photo courtesy of Jasen P. Book, (April 2012).

5. Colonel James Underwood Cross (SAM 26000)
Served: President Lyndon Johnson
July 1965 to May 1968

4. Colonel James Swindal (SAM 26000)
Served: January 1961 to November 1963 (Kennedy),
then November 1963 to July 1965 (Johnson)

3. Colonel William G. Draper (Columbine)
Served: President Dwight Eisenhower
January 1953 to January 1961

2. Colonel Francis W. Williams
(The Independence)

Served: President Harry Truman
January 1948 to January 1953

1. Lieutenant Colonel Henry Tift "Hank" Myers
(The Independence) - Biography

(Courtesy of the University of Georgia)
Served: June 1944 (Franklin Roosevelt)
to January 1948 (Harry Truman).